top of page
Search
  • Writer's picture

Angels Among Us

Angels among us.

Do you have a guardian angel? What are they like? Have you seen your angel?

Well, here’s mine...

His name is Ray Drew. He used to play football for the University of Georgia. Before that, he played for Thomas County Central High School. And, back then, I referred to him as Keller’s guardian angel.



See, Ray is the one who told Keller to play football in 9th grade. He’s the one who pushed him to play hard and learn the game. He showed Keller what it was like to pursue your dreams through hard work. He also showed Keller what it meant to be a Christian day to day.


See, Ray became ordained as a minister at the age of 17. He is wise beyond his years. And he is just such a great example for Keller and other young guys.

But, last year through my illness and brain surgery, Ray would call and pray with me. And he would ask others to pray for me, even during his live broadcasts on Facebook. It all made me love him more.


And, now, Ray has become even more special to me. Why? Well, just two weeks ago, Keller dropped out of school. Again. And he left me. Again. And once again, I texted Ray to look out for Keller in South Georgia and to be praying for him. But, within minutes, my phone rang and it was Ray. He wanted to pray with me. And FOR me. Not just Keller. He wanted me to know that I wasn’t alone...that God would still look over Keller AND me as well...and that all my years of prayers and dedication with Keller would not be overlooked by God.


Then, just a couple days after that, my mother ended up in the hospital, critically ill with lung problems. Who showed up to pray with her in the hospital the first night I was there? Ray Drew. Who showed up at her house late that night while I was alone and missing Keller especially much? Ray Drew. He stayed and prayed with me and talked to me for hours. I can’t put into words how much that meant to me. He kept my focus on God, and made me promise to cling to the fact that God and God alone is in control of all these challenging things. All of this faith and wisdom in a 25 year old young man. It’s just amazing to me.


When he left that night, as I hugged him bye, I told him that I had always referred to him as Keller’s guardian angel, but now I knew he was mine, too. He just smiled.


Thank you, Ray, for loving me and Keller.

And, thank you, God, for giving us Ray Drew.

80 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page