top of page
Search
  • Writer's picture

2019, Let’s do this.

Updated: Jan 3, 2019

2018 was definitely a year of ups and downs. I felt blindsided by so many things, but also gained confidence in myself to bounce back. Some things were minor bumps in the road. Some were soul-crushing. And it all ended with the most painful surgery I’ve ever had. Who knew knee replacement would take longer to get over than having brain surgery?!?


The last several weeks robbed me of so much joy. Pain filled it’s space. Physical pain led to a pity party which led to a dark place I’ve seen a few times before. I left home November 18th to work 35 hours straight to head into a surgery I wasn’t prepared for. I lost Thanksgiving...still haven’t been able to return home...yes, sleeping in an office again (which really has messed with my head this time, almost like PTSD)...threat of infection and then actual infection has kept me from my dog, Murphy...and another rough Christmas on many levels.


Even with all the bad, I’m so thankful for the love of family and friends, who each took a turn to watch over me and encourage me. To each of you, thank you. ❤️


NOW...Reflection time is over. It’s a new year. So, let’s do this. Let’s not forget the lessons of the past...but let’s not beat ourselves up over mistakes any longer. (I’m saying US, but I’m really talking to ME.)


And as I look forward, I’m not making big resolutions or lofty goals this year. I’m focusing on things to make me feel better about me. Last year left me weary. I want rest. I want rejuvenation. Physically, emotionally, mentally, and spiritually. So here’s a bucket list of sorts, for myself in this new year:


1 new set of devotions to kickoff the year...anyone want to join me in 100 Days of Brave by Annie Downs??


1 new city ( in US )...with as much as I travel, I want to see new places.


1 new city ( outside US )...I can’t believe it’s been 3 years since my last cruise or almost two since my dream trip to Europe...I simply must see more of this amazing world!


24 new recipes...I need some time in my kitchen, at home, to play and try and just be...and I especially want time to do Christmas baking next year. (And put up a Christmas tree!!)


50 walks on the beach...that’s a goal of once a week, knowing I may have to miss a week or two. But I moved close to the beach to see it...why do I not go? It’s so good for my soul.


100 miles walked...some of you do that much in a week or two, but that’s an average of a couple miles a week, and it’s going to take me awhile to work up to that with this new knee. And I’m not talking all the steps of my crazy job...talking 100 miles outside in this world, preferably on the beach!


12 new books...I only read 3 this past year. They led to big things, like the Cottage. But I miss reading more. I will slow down and do it!


25 new layouts (for me)...I’ve been more creative in the last year and a half since the removal of my brain tumor than in years before that, but it was all for work. I want, NO, I need creative time for me. (And I just know that’ll turn into more creative ideas for the business, too!)


25 new blog posts...at least. That’s this one plus two per month. Heck, I’ve written almost half that many already. Just need to find the courage to post them. (Maybe 100 Days is Brave will help that 😉)


1 new friend...at least. Making new friends is absolutely the best part of my job. I have friends who feel like a chosen family all across this country. So, I can’t wait to see what new friend or friends become part of my tribe in the coming year!


That’s what I plan for 2019, by the numbers so to speak. I’ll track as many of those as I can. And I just know, deep down, that I’ll be in a much better place a year from now.


What are your hopes for 2019? Resolutions? Plans? Goals? Dreams?



Wishing all the best to you and yours in this new year.


2019, Let’s do THIS.


Kim Hyde

Keller’s Creations


143 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Inch by inch.

Inch by inch.  The last six weeks have been hard.  Beyond hard. And this was supposed to be my easiest surgery yet! See, God does have a sense of humor!! Yes, it’s been hard.  But inch by inch thi

TIME

bottom of page